Black & White

Snow

It started snowing this afternoon (Tuesday). After the course was finished for the day, I took the above shot on my way back to the car. It wasn’t all that great by itself so I converted it to black and white. I also pushed up the sharpness in order to achieve a grainy effect. I applied a red filter to emphasize the light point towards the right of the building and increased the contrast to convey a moody and harsh feeling as if the snow could almost turn into rain.

Black & White

It is worth noting that if I decreased the contrast instead, then the details in the trees on the left become evident and the feeling softens as if the snow was much thinker in the air and the visibility much worse.

Black & White Two

Neither technique conveys the true feeling of what it was really like to be there, but since I failed to do that with this picture in the first place I figured that I might as well create some drama and try and make the shot interesting.

Categories: Photography | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

