I finally got to look at Legends of Norrath

Yes! My laptop is back and I can play EQ2 again! Whoopee!

Last night I logged into the game and waited for the update. This took about an hour and was just over 200MB. I think I was about two GU’s behind because LoN didn’t seem to feature in the update notes for GU38. I have lost track of which update was which. After a few weeks of not playing I even struggled to keep up with the news on the internet.

But now I’m back and sure enough, when I finally got into the game, LoN was there and waiting. I was a bit dissapointed with how long it took to load but once it was done it ran very nicely.

Legends of Norrath Tutorial 1
Legends of Norrath Tutorial 1

I started out at the beginning (a very good place to start) and managed to complete the first tutorial before having to go to bed. I found the cards to be very similar to Magic The Gathering but then its so long since I played that, that I could very well be wrong. The interface was nice and graphical with plenty of eye candy everywhere. The cards look nice and I am please that each card has a “quote” and an illustration.

Legends of Norrath Tutorials
Legends of Norrath Tutorials

Another thing I was very pleased about is that every subscriber gets a free starter deck. I was actually prepared to buy one so getting it free is a bonus. As you can see from the above screenshot, the game looks good and the artwork is very impressive.

Card file
Card file

I used to have a real file like this full of cards for Magic The Gathering. Actually it wasn’t that full, but I’d like to think it was. I think its awesome that the designers have created a card file just like one would have for a normal trading card game in the real world.

While I have been a bit out of the loop lately as far as EQ2 news goes, I did read a lot of the blogs about LoN. I know that some people are not happy with the inclusion of this game in EQ2. To them I say this:

I think its fantastic to have another way of keeping oneself occupied in the game. It is my opinion that having LoN in the game is more likely to keep people logged in for longer. For myself, I will be less likely to log out because I don’t have anything to do, can’t find a group or don’t feel like working my current quests, etc. Instead I will play LoN. A change is as good as a holiday! In this way, I will be more likely to be online and available when groups do come along, or when a guildie is looking for me or when someone else is forming a group to do that instance or quest which I just never can complete because I can’t find help. What better way to pass the time when camping, LFG, etc. than playing another game for which I don’t even have to leave my current one (or have a second PC).

Categories: EQ2 | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

