New technology

This year I planned to upgrade Janita’s computer so that Photoshop would run faster and I could use it for my simulations. On Friday 4 September we went to buy the new parts and spent a little bit more than planned (quite a bit more actually). I spent a few hours on Saturday morning assembling it and here are some snaps I took along the way:

The empty case

The empty case

I quite liked this sign that came with the GeForce 9800 GT graphics card…

Do not disturb

Do not disturb

And the finished result looked like this on the inside:

Finished result

Finished result

Needless to say that it didn’t start first time but after re-seating the memory and power cables it worked fine. I don’t know why it is but every time I build a new pc (and I’ve built quite a few) they never fail NOT to start first time!

It is awesome to have a new PC. Last time I upgraded this one was in 2004 (I think). It runs fast and the graphics are awesome. Photoshop no longer behaves as though it is coal fired and running out of steam and my simulations run much faster than on my laptop. I haven’t had much time to test the graphics except that I have a new flight simulator which looks pretty good with all the settings at maximum. More about that next time.

Categories: Computers | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

