Model aircraft

Two weeks ago, after completing the hardware setup of the new computer, I took a trip to the model shop (Frasers) and bought a set of equipment that I have wanted for a very long time. When I crashed my last aircraft in 2004 I attributed it to radio failure and I swore that one day I would buy myself a brand new state of the art radio. Here it is:

JR PROPO DSX7

JR PROPO DSX7

Its mine and wow is it awesome! What is more, it’s a 2.4 GHz set so I should never have frequency problems. Also, the technology is as new as possible, DSMJ not DSM2. It’s so new, Frasers doesn’t even have stock of receivers yet. This DSMJ technology apparently hops frequencies, instead of reserving two frequencies like DSM2 does. This has something to do with the fact that the Japanese are not allowed to reserve frequencies in the 2.4 GHz band and I have been  assured that the technology is stable.

Also as a result of my last crash and due to a few dodgy moments with the Sky Hawk, I decided that improperly charged batteries were no excuse for a crash. It a bit like flying a real aircraft with insufficient fuel, ie. you’re asking for trouble. So I bought a fancy balance charger and so far have successfully managed to restore my old Sky Hawk battery to health. The setup wouldn’t have been complete without a case for the transmitter (no more broken control sticks because its been shoved in a backpack) and of course, the Phoenix flight simulator to practice on.

Other goodies

Other goodies

And I will leave you with a crappy screen shot from the simulator (I need to work out how to take good ones but its difficult to take your hand off the controls to press print screen when the aircraft is in the perfect position). The simulator is awesome by the way!

Phoenix screenshot

Phoenix screenshot

Categories: Aircraft | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

