Heart stopping moments…

I had another great flight with the Extra today. I managed loops, rolls and inverted flight. I even tried a knife-edge but this didn’t work so well because I haven’t increased the rudder motion after reducing it in an attempt to make the aircraft controllable on the ground.

I did have one heart stopping moment when, after turning too sharply onto finals and with the speed too low, the aircraft simply fell out of the sky and in between the trees. By some miracle it missed all of them (the spaces between them were not more than 3m big), leveled the wings and pointed its nose at the sky. Seeing this, I decided to apply full throttle and to my absolute amazement it climbed easily back into the sky and out from between the trees.

A lucky escape from a classic mistake!

Categories: Extra 230 | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

