Hockey

Its been a while since my last post. I’ve been crazily busy at work and am still trying to find a place to live. I have found the Devil Ducks hockey team however.

Janita and me in Düsseldorf

Last Sunday, Janita and I went to Düsseldorf for the day. We spent the morning wandering around the old town and went on a short boat trip on the Rhine.

Warsteiner

Then we took the Ü-Bahn (tram) through the city and out to a town called Krefeld. Krefeld has a hockey shop called Canpro Sports which had a season opening special running for the afternoon. With Janita’s help, I got kitted up!

Tristan finding hockey kit

Afterwards, Janita and I went to a beer garden at a festival that was happening in the same street.

Älg, Alt Bier und Bredzel

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to go to my first practice on Monday because I was feeling sick. Friday night was my first practice with the Ducks.

Aachen Eissporthalle

Practice turned into a game and although I was hesitant to play at first, I did and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The team is on a level between the SA’s 1st and 2nd divisions. They play “low contact” hockey. They have their own change room filled with more random hockey kit than I’ve ever seen and almost as much beer. If they let me join, I won’t have to take my kit home because it can stay in the change room!

Categories: Ice hockey, Travels | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Hockey

  1. Pingback: 2010 « More or less interesting moments in life

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

