Snowboarding

Janita and I went snowboarding yesterday. There is an indoor ski slope called SnowWorld in Landgraaf, Heerlen that is open all year round. We spent the first hour messing around by ourselves before having a one hour lesson with an instructor. The lesson helped immensely because the instructor showed us the basic techniques including what to do and what not to do. She also showed us the correct stance on the board. By the end of the day we were able to go down the steeper practice slope and Janita was making progress in the turns. I tried the big slope and managed to roll a significant part of the way down (and eat a lot of snow in the process). After two attempts I decided it was time to take a break before I hurt myself badly. Al-in-all snowboarding was quite different but fun and the boots are way more comfortable than ski boots.

Today I am sore in muscles and places I didn’t know existed. Most of my limbs ache and my one muscle feels like it’s about to go into cramp at any moment. I need to try snowboarding again before I make up my mind against it but right now I suspect that skiing is going to be the right thing for me. I’m not entirely enthralled by facing sideways – I like to look down the slope.

20110602-122248.jpg

Categories: Skiing | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

