Apple, Google & Microsoft

First came Microsoft with the Disk Operating System (DOS) and bug for every occasion.
Then came Google with the ability to search the web, even for a picture of your own house.
Then came Apple with the user experience – a device that fits into the palm of your hand (but you have to be careful how you hold it).

… At some point came Steam with GLaDOS (Genetic Lifeform and Disk Operating System) – but that’s another story

But joking aside, Apple, Google and Microsoft have had all made significant impacts on technology as we know and take it for granted today. They are rivals, each one competing for its share of the mobile market and the web.

So will someone please explain to me why I am using Microsoft’s Exchange technology to synchronize my Google Mail account with my Apple iPhone? The answer is – of course – simple. Because it works and is the best solution – for me. This situation however, highlights a few important facts about the companies involved and the technologically advance world we live in today. Firstly, Google has, in my opinion, the best solution for email, contacts and calendars and it is available at no cost to the general public. Sure I could use Outlook or some other email service, but lets face it, it just doesn’t measure up to Google. Secondly: as much maligned as Microsoft has become and despite their reputation for buggy products, they do know what they are doing and they have developed some fantastic technology. And finally: Apple offers the best user experience of any device I have ever laid my hands on.

My iPhone and iPad are my technological crutches – the ultimate definition of “personal computers”. However, although I will probably never again be happy with another phone, the actual software and content delivered by Apple does not measure up to the awesomeness of the device it runs on or the user experience offered by that device. Therefore I must go to 3rd party software to enjoy the true potential of iOS devices. I wouldn’t be in the least bit surprised if this was part of Apple’s strategy because it promotes an innovative and competitive developer environment. Basically, it stimulates a developer using a piece of software to think: “Hey, I can do better than this!”. Then he or she sits down and does exactly that – which is exactly what Apple wants. This is good for the developer, good for Apple and ultimately good for me, the consumer.

Categories: Apple, iPad, Technology | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

