Hockey puck to the chin

Last night at hockey practice I lunged to make a stick check at the same time as a team-mate connected with the puck moving in the other direction. The puck bounced up my stick and hit me in the jaw, making a small but deep cut but fortunately no further damage.

After applying loads of ice and a plaster to stop the bleeding, I showered and changed and Christian took me to Bardenburg Krankenhaus in Würselen. I can assure you that one of the best ways to learn a language is through experience. For example, after last night, I will never forget that “Betäubung” means anesthetic. It’s the strangest question here in Germany but they always ask whether you want anesthetic or not (even dentists ask this before drilling for fillings).

Half an hour, and one stitch later, and Christian was kind enough to give me a lift home, arriving at approximately the same time I would have, had I taken the 57 bus home after a normal practice.

I live and learn.

Categories: Ice hockey, Life | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

