A Virtual Pilot’s Story

I’ve done something crazy! There was some bloke in Virac in the Philippines selling this 58 and I bought it! Wow, it feels really good to own my own aircraft (even though all I’ve actually got so far is this rather faded photo). Now I have to go and fetch it and it looks like I’ll be leaving my base in Köln for a while, not to mention the trusty King Air which I fly so many assignments in (mind you, maybe I can use it for the first part of the journey and then get someone to fly it back for me…).

Beechcraft Baron 58 (Sold)

Beechcraft Baron 58 (Sold)

I sat down with the map this morning to do some planning. It looks like I’ll have to fly approximately 10.000 km there – and then back again of course. The trip East should be quicker because I can rent whatever I can get my hands on, assuming I have a type rating for it,  a make as much money as I go. The trip back? Well, the principle of making as much money as I can still applies, but I will be flying the Baron the whole way in order to get it back to Köln so it might be a bit slow (cruise speed over the ground in no wind is 192 knots – over a distance of 10.000 km that means just over 28 total hours cruising time to get back home).

Germany to the Philippines or bust

Germany to the Philippines and back or bust

I also checked up on the status of the 350 I normally rent, but its out of town at the moment so I called up a pilot buddy of mine and he’ll fly it back for me. He should land sometime later this afternoon so I’ll be ready to start tomorrow morning. No time like the present I suppose. There are also some passengers wanting to go in that direction and willing to pay fairly well for the privilege so this plan is looking good. For now, I’m off to enjoy the beautiful spring weather and the first sunshine we’ve seen here in the area for a while. I hope it holds until tomorrow. It would be awesome to depart in weather like this.

Good weather in Köln

Good weather in Köln

Next episode

Categories: Germany to the Philippines and back or bust | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “A Virtual Pilot’s Story

  1. Pingback: First legs | More or less interesting moments in life

  2. Pingback: Technical failure | More or less interesting moments in life

  3. Pingback: Lost it | More or less interesting moments in life

  4. Pingback: East, East and further East | More or less interesting moments in life

  5. Pingback: Challenging | More or less interesting moments in life

  6. Pingback: Finally there | More or less interesting moments in life

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

